Conception of WS2500/WS7000 sensor

(Still under construction)

Introduction

WS2500

I have since now more than 10 years a weather station WS2500. A this time, it was the flagship of Lacrosse Technology and from my point of view this is the best model this compagny has done. This weather station is composed with one thermometer/hygrometer, one barometer, one anemometer, one rain gauge and one luxmeter(which is something rare). The size of the screen of this station is big. However, it can be criticized for its 3min measurement step and the wind speed measurement which is a bit "random".
It has been a few years since this station is no longer manufactured and it becomes almost impossible to find replacement sensors. And I don't want to put in the carbage a station that works perfectly just because one of the sensors is broken and having to reinvest hundreds of euros in a new weather station. This is the reason why I decided to undertake the realization of a "home made" sensor. And if this project succeeds, then I could eventually troubleshoot the people who are in the same situation as me.

General description

The sensor specification is the following:

To achieve this, a microcontroller will perform the communication with different sensors. The microcontroller software will determine which type of sensor is emulated. It will at the same time ensure the transmission of information on the proper format via 433Mhz link. As a reminder, the transmission protocol for the sensors is described on this page .
This sensor is also the opportunity to improve the measurement of the wind speed which as I said above is not very reliable for the WS2500. With this new sensor, we will be able to rethink the measurement of the wind speed and thus improve the reliability. By using the transmission protocol of the sensor WS7000-20 (sensor which is not managed by the weather station), it is thus possible to send an average speed, a maximum speed and a direction in the same transmission.

Electronique schematic

Nothing very complicated for the electronic part. We find:

Proteus ISIS schematic

Battery sizing

Obviously, a stand-alone installation, powered by a solar cell coupled to a NiMH battery, supposed to be several years outdoors, must have as little power consumption as possible. The frequency of the quartz (4MHz) was chosen so that the PIC does not consume a lot (<1mA) while having correct execution performance. Thus, in the presence of all the sensors, an average consumption of the order of 1 mA is achieved. It should be noted that during the emission of the data, the consumption is increased to 5mA (due to the transmitter RT4-433) but for a very short duration (<100ms)
If you consider that it does not do beautiful every day in Bretagne :-), the assembly must be able to run at least 20 days without being recharged. What makes us a battery whose capacity must be minimum of: 20days * 24h * 1mA = 480mAh. Exactly the capacity of some battery found on the internet ...
But actually, it is the cost of the solar cell that determined the capacity of the battery. The most popular solar cells (made in China) are between 5 and 6V and are capable of delivering current up to 100mA (actually less than half the time). If you want to preserve the NiMH battery, do not charge it more than 10% of its capacity. So if we do the reverse calculation, with a cell capable of supplying a current of 50mA, we need a battery whose capacity is greater than 500mAh. The 50mA are rarely reaches or only in peak, so a battery of 480mAh will suit perfectly.
For more information on solar charging, you can consult these two very interesting links from robotroom.com:
NiMH solar charging
Winter NiMH charging

The measures

Temperature and humidity (WS7000-25)

AM2303

The AM2303 sensor is used to measure temperature and humidity. An AM2302 / DHT22 sensor can also be used but its accuracy is lower.
Two of these sensors can be used simultaneously to measure air and soil temperature, for example. Because we don't have enough inputs on the PIC, an analog bidirectional switch (max4561) has been added. It would have been better to take a microcontroller with more inputs / outputs because the max4561 is a very small circuit that is not evident to weld by hand. By activating a switch pin, you can choose which sensor to communicate with. According to the specification of the sensor, the length of the cable connecting it to the microcontroller can easily go up to 10 m.

Wind speed and direction (WS7000-15)

To carry out these measurements, the sensor of the WS2500 / WS7000 on which the ILS signal is fed (switch which switches each time the cup magnets pass) and the potentiometer signal which measures the direction of the wind.
The PIC comparator module (ECCP) is responsible for measuring the time between each pulse of the ILS. A measurement of the wind speed (and more particularly of the wind gusts) is thus obtained as accurate as possible. The ADC (analog and digital converter) module measures the voltage at the output of the potentiometer to deduce the direction of the wind.
The transistors setup serves to measure the voltage across the potentiometer of the wind direction only when necessary. Indeed, this potentiometer having a value of 50KOms, a permanent supply of it would cause a current leakage of approximately 70µA, ie 10% of the total consumption targeted, which is not negligible. The MOSFET-P transistor controlled by an NPN transistor activates this potentiometer as desired and then performs the measurement via the ADC of the PIC.
It should be noted that it would be quite possible to replace the anemometer of the WS2500 with that of another brand operating on the same principle (ILS + potentiometer). However, the relationship between the rotation frequency and the wind speed should be determined to be programmed into the microcontroller.

Rain sensor (WS7000-16)

Nothing very complicated for this parameter. Here again the sensor of the station is reused. The ILS signal is again picked up, which is used to increment a counter from 0 to 4095. This value is sent to the station. The INT interrupt pin of the PIC is used to trigger the increment.

Brightness (WS7000-19)

Use of the I2C MAX44009 sensor....

PCB realization

The circuit is designed in such a way that it can be integrated perfectly into a waterproof plastic case.
The battery will be soldered directly to the circuit.

PCB and 3D view with ARES

Soldering

For a part of the components (resistors, transistors and Maxim switch), I used a new technique of welding: the soldering with the pan!
It is actually reflow soldering. Liquid tin is deposited on the pellets, the components are then placed, heated for 5 minutes in the oven while respecting a temperature curve and it is ready. Not wanting to pollute my oven, I used an old pancake pan.

PCB + prototype

Premiers tests

Transmissions

During the initialization phase of the WS2500, the phase where the station is looking for all the sensors, the prototype was very well detected and all the sensors could be simulated. However, at the end of the initialization phase, the station no longer updated the information sent by the sensor. It took me some time to understand that the frequency of data emission is critical. Indeed, the station only activates receiver from time to time, in a lapse of time where theoretically a data transmission from one of the sensors will occur. By respecting the emission intervals for each of the emulated sensors, the transmission is carried out correctly. These transmission intervals are indicated on thesensors description page.

Consumption

NIMH battery discharge

To measure the consumption of the circuit, a small resistance is input, the value of which is known precisely, and then the voltage at its terminals is measured. It is thus possible to deduce the current flowing through it, corresponding to the current consumed by the prototype.

Idle: 380µA - Transmitting: ~5mA
If we consider an average duration of emission + dialogue with the sensors of about 2s, an average consumption of <400µA is obtained, ie a theoretical operating time (with a 480mAh battery) of 480/0.4 = 1200h = 50 days.

In reality, the operating autonomy obtained when the battery is fully charged is about 32 days. The chart on the right shows the evolution of the battery voltage over days (indoor test at an average temperature of 20 °C). Obviously it will be necessary to proceed the same test outdoors.

Real tests

Transission range

One of the first tests was to measure the transmission range of the sensor. Test which proved inconclusive since we did not exceed 15m. To remedy to this I changed the transmitter RT4-433 by the higher model, the RT14-433P. Luckily it is pin to pin compatible, so I did not have to redo the electronic card.
The change of this transmitter allowed to increase the transmission range. An antenna 433 Mhz of good quality was added by the same time.

Future developments

Temperature / Humidity

he accuracy of the am2320 sensor is not really good. A modification to be made later will be the use of the temperature / humidity sensor SHT25, a new sensor manufactured by sensirion in replacement of the SHT15. This sensor communicates in I2C, bus present on the card.

Are you interested by this sensor ?

If you also want to replace a WS2500 / WS7000 sensor, I can supply the printed circuit board alone or the sensor assembled in the configuration of your choice (temperature, rain, wind ...).
Please contact me.



Last update : 20/07/17

Conception d'un capteur de remplacement WS2500/WS7000

(En construction)

Introduction

WS2500

Je possède depuis maintenant plus de 10 ans une station WS2500. A l'époque, il s'agissait du modèle phare de Lacrosse Technology et c'est pour moi le meilleur modèle que cette société ait fait à ce jour. Cette station est composée d'un thermomètre-hygromètre, un baromètre, un anémomètre-girouette, un pluviomètre et un luxmètre (chose assez rare). L'écran d'accueil de cette station est grand et bien pensé. On peut toutefois lui reprocher son pas de 3min mais surtout sa mesure de la vitesse du vent un peu "aléatoire" dirons-nous.
Cela fait déjà quelques années que cette station n'est plus fabriquée et il devient presque impossible de trouver des capteurs de remplacement. On en trouve éventuellement d'occasion mais ça devient de plus en plus rare. Ca fait quand même mal au coeur de devoir mettre à la poubelle une station qui fonctionne parfaitement juste parce qu'un des capteurs est en rade et d'avoir à réinvestir des centaines d'euros dans une nouvelle station. C'est la raison pour laquelle j'ai décidé d'entreprendre la réalisation d'un capteur de ma conception. Et si ce projet abouti, alors je pourrais éventuellement dépanner les personnes qui sont dans le même cas que moi.

Description générale

Le cahier des charges du capteur est le suivant:

Pour réaliser tout cela, un microcontrôleur se chargera d'effectuer la communication avec différents capteurs. Le logiciel du micrôcontrôleur déterminera quel type de capteur est émulé. Il assurera par la même occasion la transmission des informations sur le bon format par liaison 433Mhz. Pour rappel le protocole de transmission des capteurs est décrit sur cette page.
Ce capteur est aussi l'opportunité d'améliorer la mesure de la vitesse du vent qui comme je l'ai dit plus haut n'est pas très fiable pour la WS2500. Avec ce nouveau capteur, on va pouvoir repenser la mesure de la vitesse du vent et ainsi améliorer la fiabilité. En utilisant le protocole de transmission du capteur WS7000-20 (capteur qui n'est pas géré par la station d'accueil), on peut ainsi envoyer un vitesse moyenne, une vitesse max et une direction dans la même transmission.

Schéma électronique

Rien de très compliqué pour la partie électronique. On retrouve ainsi:

Schéma Proteus ISIS

Dimensionnement de la batterie

Evidemment, un montage autonome, alimenté par une cellule solaire couplée à une batterie NiMH, censé durer des années à l'extérieur, doit avoir une consommation électrique la plus faible possible. La fréquence du quartz (4MHz) a été choisie de façon à ce que le PIC ne consomme pas énormément (<1mA) tout en ayant des performances d'exécution correctes. On atteint ainsi, en présence de l'ensemble des capteurs, une consommation moyenne de l'ordre de 1mA. On notera que lors de l'émission des datas on passe à 5mA de consommation (à cause de l'émetteur RT4-433) mais pour une très faible durée (<100ms)
Si l'on considère qu'il ne fait pas tous les jours beau en bretagne :-), le montage doit pouvoir fonctionner au moins 20 jours sans être rechargé. Ce qui nous fait une batterie dont la capacité doit être à minima de: 20jrs * 24h * 1mA = 480mAh. Exactement la capacité de certaine batterie qu'on trouve sur internet...
Mais bon, en réalité c'est le coût de la cellule solaire qui a déterminé la capacité de la batterie. Les cellule solaire (made in China) les plus populaires font entre 5 et 6V et sont capable de débiter un courant allant jusque 100mA (deux fois moins en réalité). Si l'on souhaite préserver la batterie NiMH, il ne faut pas la recharger à plus 10% de sa capacité. Donc si on fait le calcul inverse, avec une cellule capable de fournir un courant de 50mA, il nous faut en face une batterie dont la capacité est supérieur à 500mAh. Les 50mA étant rarement atteint ou seulement en pic, une batterie de 480mAh (répendue sur le net) conviendra parfaitement.
Pour plus d'information sur la recharge solaire, vous pouvez consulter ces deux liens très intéressant du site robotroom.com:
Recharge solaire NiMH
Recharge NiMH en hiver

Les différentes mesures

Température et humidité (WS7000-25)

AM2303

Le capteur AM2303 est utilisé pour mesurer la température et l'humidité. Un capteur AM2302/DHT22 peut aussi être utilisé mais sa précision est moindre.
Deux de ces capteurs peuvent être utilisé simultéanément pour par example mesure la température de l'air et du sol. N'ayant pas assez de broche sur le PIC, un switch analogique bidirectionnel (max4561) a du être ajouté. Il aurait été préférable de prendre un microcontrôleur avec plus d'entrées/sorties car le max4561 est un tout petit circuit qui n'est pas évidant à souder à la main. L'activation d'une broche du switch permet ainsi de choisir vers quel capteur on souhaite communiquer. D'après la spécification du capteur, la longueur du câble le reliant au microcontrôleur peut aisément aller jusqu'à 10m.

Vitesse et direction du vent (WS7000-15)

Pour effectuer ces mesures, on réutilise le capteur de la WS2500/WS7000 sur lequel on vient prélever le signal de l'ILS (interrupteur qui bascule à chaque passage de l'aimant des coupelles) ainsi que le signal du potentiomètre qui mesure la direction du vent.
Le module comparateur (ECCP) du PCI se charge de mesurer le temps entre chaque impulsion de l'ILS. On obtient ainsi une mesure de la vitesse du vent (et plus particulièrement des rafales) la plus précise possible. Le module ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) mesure la tension en sortie du potentiomètre pour en déduire la direction du vent.
Le montage à base de transistors sert à mesurer la tension aux bornes du potentiomètre de la girouette que lorsque c'est nécessaire. En effet, ce potentiomètre ayant une valeur de 50KOms, une alimentation permanante de celui-ci provoquerait une fuite de courant d'environ 70µA soit 10% de la consommation totale visée, ce qui n'est pas négligeable. Le transistor MOSFET-P piloté par un transitor NPN active à souhait l'alimentation de ce potentiomètre pour ensuite effectuer la mesure via le ADC du PIC.
A noter qu'il serait tout à fait possible de remplacer l'anémomètre de la WS2500 par celui d'une autre marque fonctionnant sur le même principe (ILS + potentiomètre). Il faudrait toutefois déterminer la relation qui lie la fréquence de rotation à la vitesse du vent pour la programmer dans le microcontrôleur.

Précipitations (WS7000-16)

Rien de bien compliqué pour ce paramètre. Là encore on réutilise le capteur de la station. On vient à nouveau prélever le signal de l'ILS qui sert à incrémenter un compteur allant de 0 à 4095. C'est cette valeur que l'on envoit à la station. La broche d'interruption INT du PIC est utilisée pour déclencher l'incrément.

Intensité lumineuse (WS7000-19)

Utilisation du capteur I2C MAX44009. A venir...

Réalisation du PCB

Le circuit est dessiné de tel sorte qu'il puisse s'intégrer parfaitement dans un botier plastique étanche.
La batterie sera soudée directement sur le circuit.

PCB et représentation 3D sous ARES

Soudure

Pour une partie des composants (résistances, transitors et switch Maxim), j'ai employé une nouvelle technique de soudure: la soudure à la poêle !
Il s'agit en réalité de la soudure à refusion. On vient déposer de l'étain liquide sur les pastilles, on place ensuite les composants, on fait chauffer 5 minutes au four en respectant une courbe de température et c'est prêt. Ne voulant pas polluer mon four, j'ai utilisé une vielle poêle à crêpes.

Lot de PCB + prototype réalisé

Premiers tests

Transmissions

Lors de phase d'initialisation de la WS2500, phase où la station recherche tous les capteurs, le prototype était très bien détecté et l'ensemble des capteurs a pu être simulé. Toutefois, à la fin de la phase d'initialisation, la station ne mettait plus à jour les infos envoyées par le capteur. Il m'a fallu un certains temps pour comprendre que la fréquence d'émission des datas a une importance capitale. En effet, la station n'active sont récepteur que de temps en temps, dans un lapse de temps où théoriquement une émission de data en provenance d'un des capteurs va se produire.
En respectant les intervalles d'émission pour chacun des capteurs émulé, la transmission s'effectue correctement. Ces intervalles d'émission sont renseignés sur la page de description des capteurs.

Consommation

Décharge de la batterie NIMH

Pour mesurer la consommation du montage, on met en entrée une petite résistance dont on connait précisément la valeur puis on mesure la tension à ses bornes. On peut ainsi en déduire le courant la traversant, correspondant au courant consommé par le montage.

Au repos: 380µA - En émission: ~5mA
Si on prend une durée moyenne d'émission + dialogue avec les capteurs d'environ 2s on obtient une consommation moyenne d'environ 400µA soit une durée théorique de fonctionnement (avec une batterie de 480mAh) de: 480/0.4 = 1200h = 50 jours.

Dans la réalité on obtient une autonomie de fonctionnement, lorsque la batterie est complètement chargée, de l'ordre de 32 jours. En témoigne le graphique ci-contre représentant l'évolution de la tension de la batterie au fil des jours (test effectué en intérieur pour une température moyenne de 20°C). Bien évidemment il faudra procéder au même test en extérieur.

Mise en situation

Portée

Un des premiers test a été de mesurer la portée du capteur. Test qui s'est avéré non concluant puisque l'on ne dépassait pas 15m. Pour remédier à cela j'ai changé l'émetteur RT4-433 par le modèle supérieur, le RT14-433P. Par chance il est pin to pin compatible, donc je n'ai pas eu à refaire la carte électronique.
Le changement de cet émetteur à permis d'augmenter condisérablement la portée. Une antenne 433 Mhz de bonne qualité a été ajoutée par la même occasion.

Evolutions futures

Température/Humidité

La précision du capteur am2320 n'est pas execptionnelle. Une modification à apporter plus tard sera l'utilisation du capteur de température/humidité SHT25, nouveau capteur fabriqué par sensirion en remplacement du SHT15. Ce capteur communique en I2C, bus présent sur la carte.

Vous êtes intéressé par ce capteur ?

Si vous aussi vous souhaitez remplacer un capteur WS2500/WS7000, je peux fournir le circuit imprimé seul ou bien le capteur assemblé dans la configuration de votre choix (température, pluie, vent..).
Prenez contact avec moi.



Dernière mise à jour: 18/07/17